About History of CSU Hunan Medical University

Former Hunan Medical University

Hunan Medical University is located in Kaifu District, Changsha, adjacent to Xiang River. Since 1978, it has been one of colleges and universities affiliated to the Ministry of Health of the P.R.C. (now known as the National Health and Family Planning Commission of the P.R.C.).

The university, formerly known as Xiangya Medical University, was jointly founded by Hunan Yuqun Society and Yale-China Association in 1914. Its first president is a pioneer of modern medical education in our country—Dr. Yan Fuqing. The university has two campuses, an old one and a new one, the former occupying an area of 77.34 hectares and the latter of 400,000m2. The new campus is under construction; Xinglin Residential Community, the stadium and public infrastructure have been completed the teaching center building, gymnasium, student’s dormitory and the dining hall is at the bidding invitation for design; the library and the experiment building are put on the schedule. A modern new campus is expected to be put into use in a few years.

“Diligent, rigorous, united and enterprising” is the motto of the university. Owing to its rigorous scholarship, the university has cultivated a large number of medical scientists famous both at home and abroad, such as Zhang Xiaoqian, Tang Feifan, Ying Yuanyue, Li Zhenpian, Xie Shaowen, Long Bojian and Wu Shaoqing. It is the only counterpart in the south to Peking Union Medical College, the best medical school in China.

Hunan Medical University is a multi-disciplinary and multi-specialty medical university running at multi-level and in various forms. It’s characterized by high teaching quality, high scientific research level and excellent medical technology. The university sets up 27 CPC units including CPC Committee departments, secondary CPC Committees, general CPC branches and CPC branches directly under the university and has 21 secondary administration departments and offices. In addition, it has 15 schools and departments including the School of Basic Medicine, School of Public Health, School of Nursing, the First School of Clinical Medicine, the Second School of Clinical Medicine, the Third School of Clinical Medicine and Continuing Education School, and Clinical Medicine Department, Preventive Medicine Department, Medical Examination Department, Oral Medicine Department, Information Management Department (Medicine, Pharmacy), Anesthesia Department, Department of Psychiatry and Mental Health and Nursing Department, 3 affiliated hospitals and 110 teaching and research offices, 83 labs and 11 research institutes for studies on tumor, cardiovascular disease, mental health, combination of Chinese and western medicine, preventive medicine, clinical endocrinology and metabolism, neurology, epidemiology, basic and clinical pharmacology, organ transplantation and medical education, respectively, as well as 1 national key laboratory (medical genetics), 2 ministerial and provincial key laboratories (mechanism of carcinogenesis and cardiovascular research), 1 national key discipline (pathophysiology), 3 postdoctoral research stations (basic medicine, clinical medicine and biology) and 7 national or ministerial training (research) centers including centers of medical genetics, clinical pharmacology, English, medical instruments and equipment, surgery of liver, gall and bowel, medical hyperbaric oxygen and hospital infection control. The 3 affiliated hospitals have a total of 2600 authorized beds; they are all “third-grade class-A” hospitals, of which, the Xiangya Hospital of CSU and the Second Xiangya Hospital of CSU were rated as national “Top 100 Hospitals” in 1999.

The university has 9,043 students including 284 doctoral students, 478 master students, 5123 undergraduates and other part-time adult students and self-taught students. The faculty comprises 8,583 members, 6744 in-service and 1,839 retired; of the in-service staff, 335 persons have full senior professional titles, 796 persons have associate senior professional titles and 2018 persons have intermediate professional titles. There are 4996 professionals engaged in teaching, scientific research and medical treatment; there are 752 administrative staff members and 1101 auxiliary staff members, and also 1 academician of Chinese Academy of Sciences (Prof. Yao Kaitai), 1 academician of Chinese Academy of Engineering (Prof. Xia Jiahui) and 3 State Council Discipline Appraisal Group members (Yao Kaitai, Xia Jiahui and Liu Yunsheng). It has 23 disciplines authorized for the doctoral degree and 46 disciplines authorized for the master’s degree.